The Library is now open Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 7:00 pm and Saturday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm. Curbside is still available.
The Library is now open the following hours Monday-Friday 9:00 am - 7:00 pm and Saturday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm. Curbside is still available.
 

 

Databases

  • freegal halloween

    There are two holidays that stick out in my mind as having the best music. Christmas, of course, and Halloween. Nothing gets me in the haunting mood like a creepy minor chord.  Freegal, which allows you to download 3 songs a week with your Provo City Library Card, has a wonderful collection of those classic creepy tunes you are looking for.

    Here’s a list of some of the best for your spooky playlist!

    THRILLER
    By Michael Jackson
    (1984)

    MONSTER MASH
    By Bobby Boris Pickett
    (1962)

    GHOSTBUSTERS
    By Ray Parker Jr
    (1983)

    I PUT A SPELL ON YOU
    By Screamin’ Jay Hawkins
    (1956)

    LOVE POTION #9
    By The Clovers
    (1959)

  • borrow ebooks

    I recently learned that Google has made finding free legal eBooks that can be borrowed from the library easier than ever. I was curious how well it worked, so I experimented with the feature. Here is what I discovered for both desktop and mobile versions.

    Desktop Computer3.12 Desktop Version

    After entering a book title on Google, the feature appears on the right side within what is known as the Google Knowledge Graph display. Basically, there is a box on the right side of the screen next to the search results. The box contains information about the book including ratings and reviews from various websites, book summary, publication date, author, genre, awards (if any), online bookstores where it is available to be purchased and FINALLY the Borrow ebook section.

    Be aware that if the book title is not available from the library, you will not see the Borrow ebook section. However, keep reading for additional search quirks.

    If the eBook is available, you will see a list of libraries within your geolocated range or, in other words, libraries nearby. If the wrong libraries are displayed, you can change your location by clicking on the Edit Location link and entering your zip code or city name. The library list will then reload.

    Don’t see Provo City Library listed? No problem.

    Provo City Library’s eBook holdings are found within the Utah’s Online Library collection. Utah’s Online Library gives Provo City Library card holders access to both the Provo City Library eBook collection and the Utah State Library collection.

    After searching, click on Utah’s Online Library to either borrow the item immediately or place a hold which will then notify you via email when the eBook is available.

    Please note, to borrow free legal eBooks from the online library, you will need a Provo City Library card. Library cards from other Utah libraries can also be used to check out eBooks from Utah’s Online Library, but will not give you access to Provo City Library’s collection.

     

    Mobile Device3.12 Mobile Version

    After searching Google on a mobile device, look for the block of color in the search results that shows the title and author of the book. Just below the title and author is a mini menu.

    Tap on Get Book in the mini menu. Then look for Borrow ebook. This section can be found just below the list of online bookstores.Tap on Utah’s Online Library. You will then be redirected to the eBook entry for the title you entered. Here you can either borrow the item immediately or place a hold which will then notify you via email when the eBook is available.

    Please note, to check out free legal eBooks from the online library, you will need a Provo City Library card. Library cards from other Utah libraries can also be used to check out eBooks from Utah’s Online Library, but will not give you access to Provo City Library’s collection.

    My Discoveries

    Through trial and error, I have discovered some quirks to be aware of with this search feature.

    Only OverDrive: There are other eBook collections out there including RBdigital which you also have access to with your Provo City Library card. However, Google search currently only works with OverDrive, so you will not see any results for other eBook collections.

    No audiobooks: Even though Utah’s Online Library also offers free legal audiobooks to borrow and listen to, Google’s search feature only works for eBooks. No results will come up if there is an audiobook but no eBook.

    Books made for the silver screen: Books made into movies or TV series don’t always return results. For example, I tried searching for Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library which is a movie and a book. The title does not return any free eBooks even though the book is available in Utah’s Online Library collection. However, a search for the second book in the series, Mr. Lemoncello’s Great Race, which does not have a movie version, does come up.

    I have discovered that sometimes, adding “book” to the end of the title will help return the correct results, but not always.

    Correct titles: You know how Google is great for finding something even if you can’t quite remember what it’s called? Well that doesn’t work so well when finding eBooks. I tried experimenting with variations on book titles with poor results. For example, I search for Mistborn but no eBooks came up. However, when I changed my search to Mistborn: The Final Empire, then it came up.Tip: if you can’t remember the title, search for it on Google. After finding the correct title, perform a new search.

    Vague titles: Titles that are not specific enough to return good results can also be problematic. For example, Hunted. Just entering “hunted” in the search box will not return any eBook results. However, try adding “book” to the end of the title or the author’s name and you will have far better luck.

    My Conclusions

    While this is a handy new, automatic feature built into Google, the results are still a little sporadic. Readers that frequently look for books by searching Google will find this a useful tool. However, if you really want to know if an eBook is available, I would recommend directly searching Utah’s Online Library (https://utahsonlinelibrary.overdrive.com/). For me, I think this is a great new feature for browsing and chancing across interesting books, but it is less useful when I am looking for something specific.

  • unknown holidays

    Now that November has come around, we are all preparing for Thanksgiving, that big holiday at the end of the month. However, there are a lot of other holidays this month that just get overlooked in our turkey preparation.

    Yeah, Thanksgiving is fun, but should it so blatantly overshadow Have a Party with Your Bear Day? (Yeah, look it up. It’s worth a Google.) Or what about the equally important National Fast Food Day? Should that be passed over for a holiday that we just go and eat food?

    I agree with you that we should absolutely not! So, to help correct this egregious oversight, we at the library are happy to provide some books to help you properly celebrate some of these other holidays (as well as letting you know when these are).

    You’re welcome. 

    National Clean Your Refrigerator Day
    November 15

    Just a week and a half before Thanksgiving, this is an important holiday if you want to properly celebrate the leftovers you are bound to have. Depending on the state of your fridge, you can observe this holiday by throwing away old leftovers, wiping down your shelves, or, if your fridge is past all hope, throwing it away and buying a new one. We have lots of resources that can help you out with any of that. For a good start, take a look at HOUSEHOLD HINTS: AMAZING USES FOR SALT, LEMON, VINEGAR, AND BAKING SODA by Heather Rodino (2015) for some good cleaning solutions you can make with stuff you have around, or check out our online database, HOME IMPROVEMENT REFERENCE CENTER, for information on buying and repairing fridges. 

    National Parfait Day
    November 25

    This holiday gives you the perfect excuse to sit back and enjoy a delicious dessert.  A parfait is a dessert that is layered in a glass, usually with whipped cream and fruits, but also chocolate and ice cream. The best part about this is you can create it any way that you like, so don’t sweat putting in the fruit. If all you have is pudding and Oreos that still counts! However, if you need some inspiration on what to make, try checking out one of our recipe books, like PUDDIN’: LUSCIOUS AND UNFORGETTABLE PUDDINGS, PARFAITS, PUDDING CAKES, PIES, AND POPS by Clio Goodman (2013) or just get in the mood by reading A PARFAIT MURDER by Wendy Watson (2011). 

    Stay Home Because You Are Well Day
    November 30

    Are you sick of work? You know, sitting at a desk and listening to a boss you don’t like all day? We’re not either. We promise. However, you should still totally observe this holiday because you feel good and you deserve it. Call in sick with a convincing cough and then relax the day away. To help you celebrate properly, come into the library to check out THE MERCK MANUAL GO-TO HOME GUIDE FOR SYMPTOMS by Robert Porter (2013) to help you come up with a convincing disease, and while you’re here, grab THE CHECKLIST: WHAT YOU AND YOUR FAMILY NEED TO KNOW TO PREVENT DISEASE AND LIVE A LONG AND HEALTHY LIFE by Manny Alvarz (2007) to help ensure that you are actually well enough to celebrate.

  • Faucet

    Over the past couple months our kitchen faucet started to drip. It started out slow, maybe one drip every 30 seconds once we noticed it. When it got to one drip every five seconds I started to go crazy.

    Now, I can be “handy” when I want/need to be, but I also like to give learning opportunities to others. And I was lazy. So, the honey-do list became simply, “fix the drip.”

    He tried. He got the drip to temporarily slow to once every 20 seconds, but it wasn’t long before it was down to once every two seconds. I was going mad, and he didn’t know what else to do. His “fixes” weren’t doing anything… and were occasionally making it worse.

    Then while at work my mind drifted for a moment and I remembered—the Library has a resource called Home Improvement Reference Center! Surely that will tell me how to fix a dripping faucet! This Reference Center makes it easy to find the information you’re looking for. My path was simply: Plumbing > Kitchens > Sinks & Faucets > Common Problems & Repairs.

    The PDF article I found was perfect, and I immediately emailed it directly to my husband through the Reference Center. I didn’t have to download it or anything!

    With this document, we learned about different types of faucets and how to identify them (so many helpful pictures!), and what can lead to the dreaded drip.

    With this information and the deteriorating parts in a baggie, we headed to Home Depot with enough knowledge and information to get the materials for a simple repair.

    We did it! My kitchen sink no longer drips and my sanity has been restored!

    Whether you’re as inexperienced with home repair as us, or you’re a pro and looking to remodel your bathroom, the Home Improvement Reference Center has articles and guides to help you with your next project. It’s definitely something I will revisit again in the future.

  • Social Distancing

    If you are an extrovert, being quarantined is a tragic turn of events. You need people to thrive! How can introverts be with themselves all day without going crazy? As an ambivert, I can relate to the need to interact with people, but I can also handle being alone for long stretches of time. So, I’ve compiled a list of resources for those extroverts out there who are going crazy. 

    Find a new hobby

    There are many online resources that can help you learn something new. A good place to go is our LET’S LEARN GUIDES. There are several different guides that you can explore. Including: Coding, painting, birding, and playing guitar. These guides can direct you to other resources to expand your skills and they have different activity ideas to keep you occupied for hours. Additional resources include: LYNDA.COM, CREATIVEBUG, and HOBBIES AND CRAFTS REFERENCE CENTER.

    Stream a movie

    If you’re tired of your regular streaming service, then try KANOPY. This free service allows you a limited number of credits each month and widens your watching possibilities. Not only does it have modern movies and shows, but it also has some exercise videos, documentaries, and even programs for kids. WARNING: Our KANOPY subscription will expire in the summer, so get watching now!

    Try a Boredom Buster

    While everyone is stuck at home, our children’s librarians have been putting together boredom busters! These are 5-10 minute videos on FACEBOOK and YOUTUBE that teach a craft or skill. These are great for learning something new with limited screen time and resources.

    Start an online book club

    If you are missing your friends and want to start filling up your social calendar again, try an online book club. You can see previous posts here about good book club practices. Additionally, we added this post on digital book clubs just a little while ago. The benefit of an online book club is that you can do activities and discussions with your friends, create new friends in the book characters, and satisfy your need for socializing without breaking any social distancing rules.

    Read a book!

    (Of course this is on the list. Did you think I’d forget?)

    There are plenty of great books to read, characters to meet, and adventures to go on. Even if you can’t come physically to the library, you can get access our digital ebooks and audiobooks through OVERDRIVERB DIGITAL, and TUMBLEBOOKS. It’s important to note that we only have access to TUMBLEBOOKS until August, 2020. So get reading!

    Here are more resources if you need help choosing a book: NOVELIST, the LIBRARY’S BOOKISTS, Or you can request a PERSONALIZED READING RECCOMENDATION.Good luck!

  •  Side Hustles

    When you think of the phrase side hustle, what comes to mind? For some the answer will be actual part-time jobs. For others, it’ll be small businesses that can be managed in anyone’s spare time.  If you’re one of those people who have wanted to start a side hustle for a long time, but haven’t because you lack the resources, the library could be the answer to your dilemma. Here are 4 resources the library gives you access to (for free!) that you might not have known could kick-start you side hustle experience. 

    Basement Creative Lab

    The Basement Creative Lab () is your number one source for video and audio production. They’ve got a green screen, full audio mixing booth, and goPros to check out. After taking an initial intro class (which happens multiple times a month), you can reserve the lab for 8 hours a month and make all the content you might need to get started. We even have computers with the software you can use to edit what you record, so you can walk out of the library with polished content meant to impress. 

     

    Lynda.com

    The biggest wall stopping any of us from starting something new is that we lack the knowledge of where to start. LYNDA (https://www.lynda.com/portal/sip?org=provolibrary.com&triedlogout=true) solves this problem. With thousands of courses made by industry pros, you can literally go from not knowing anything about something like graphic or web design, SEO writing, 3D animation, programming, etc. to being an expert. And the best part, it’s free to use with your library card! 

     

    Private Study Rooms

    Whether you just need to get away from the world for a while or need a private space to meet with someone, our private study rooms can be your next big secret weapon. With 6 rooms, and the ability to reserve online, you can gain access (for 2 hours a day) to your private home away from home. Four of the rooms have TV screens you can use for whatever best suits your content.

    RESERVE A ROOM HERE!

     

    Books!

    You knew we had books, but here are just a couple that could ramp up your side hustle:

    2.21 Side HustleSIDE HUSTLE: FROM IDEA TO INCOME IN 27 DAYS
    By Chris Guillebeau
    (2017)

    It’s right there in the title. This book is week by week guide to starting a profitable side hustle that you could get returns from (either in money or in happiness!) for years to come.

     

    2.21 The Economy of YouTHE ECONOMY OF YOU
    By Kimberly Palmer
    (2014)

    Palmer takes a more introspective approach to the side gig economy by both guiding you through starting a side hustle, while also talking about the how side hustles can change your life. 

    If you don’t feel like you know enough or don’t know where to begin, use these resources and get started!

     
  • A Very Freegal Christmas

    If you don’t know what Freegal is, you are missing out. Freegal is like Pandora or Spotify but it’s better because it’s ad free and provided for you by your friendly local library!  To find more information about how to access and use Freegal, see videos here. To access Freegal through the Provo City Library website, click here. Or you can download the free app from your app store and login that way.   

    What will you find on Freegal? Music!! With your library card you can stream 5 hours of music each day and each week, you can download 3 songs to keep forever! That’s right! You get to download songs and play them whenever. 

    As a compulsive reader and book listener, I have to admit I’m not an avid music fan. I don’t listen to the radio much and other than my daughter’s favorite collection of lullabies, I don’t usually listen to much music. However, that all changes in December. During the holiday season I listen to Christmas music whenever I get the chance and I love being able to listen to the classic Christmas carols as well as new renditions by current artists. 

    That’s where Freegal comes in super handy. Here are a few Christmas Playlists Freegal has available to you and to me this very minute! 

    A MERRY MODERN CHRISTMAS MIXTAPE

    Featuring:

    • All I Want for Christmas by Mariah Carey
    • Underneath the Christmas Tree by Kelly Clarkson
    • What Christmas Means To Me by Pentatonix
    • Must Be Santa by She & Him
    • And 83 more!  
     

    CHESTNUTS ROASTING: CHRISTMAS CLASSICS

    Featuring:

    • White Christmas by Bing Crosby
    • The Christmas Song by Nat King Cole
    • A Holly Jolly Christmas by Burl Ives
    • And 75 more!
     

    HOLIDAY SONGS

    Featuring:

    • Frosty the Snowman by The Ronettes
    • Santa Baby by Kellie Pickler
    • It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas by Noah Cyrus
    • Wintersong by Sarah McLachlan
    • And 71 more!
     
  • Library Shelves

    Whether you just got your library card or you’ve had one for decades, there are a lot of fun things you can access at the library with it. Here are some of my favorite resources that I have access to with my library card.

    FREEGAL

    Freegal is a downloadable and streaming music service that gives you access to millions of songs in MP3 format. It’s like Spotify or Pandora, but without the ads. You can stream up to five hours of music a day and download three songs each week to your computer or phone. I love Classic Rock and I have found all my favorite songs on Freegal.

    LIBBY

    Did you know the library has access to thousands of ebooks and audiobooks? Did you know you can access them for free with your library card? Libby is an app by Overdrive that makes it super easy to borrow ebooks and audiobooks. All you have to do is download the app, link your library card, and enjoy! I use this app every day.

    LYNDA

    Lynda is an amazing service that allows you to learn software, technology, creative, and business skills to achieve your personal and professional goals. You sign up to learn a skill and Lynda points you to the course that will help you learn it. The videos are very easy to follow and are made by some of the best minds in the professional world. I taught myself HTML and Wordpress so I could create an awesome blog. See what Lynda can do for you!

    CREATIVE BUG

    Creative bug is a lot like Lynda but for the crafter in you. You create an account and then you have access to thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. I am enjoying the beginning water color videos. They really have helped me unlock my creativity.

    These are just a few of my favorite resources all made possible by my library card. If you have any questions about these and other resources, stop by the reference desk and talk to a friendly librarian about how to make the most of your library card.

  • global road warrior 4

    global road warrior

    I would not yet call myself a seasoned traveler. I’ve gone abroad, but never to a non-English speaking country or somewhere with a culture vastly different from my own. 

    Next year that is going to change. I’m excited and terrified! I’m going to be confused and love it! I’m going to South Korea and Indonesia! Ahh! So many exclamation points!

    As I prepare for this trip, I’m going to be using Global Road Warrior a lot. This is one of my favorite library databases because it provides so much well organized information for over 175 countries. I love recommending it to international travelers to become familiar with the country they are going to visit, and also to students as they learn and report on countries for school.

    There are so many informational pages for each country I won’t list them all, but to the right is an example of what you might find. This particular list is for South Korea.

    One of my favorite listings is the “Food and Recipes” section. Not just because I love to cook and experiment in the kitchen, but because everyone eats, and trying local cuisine is a big part of international travel. Several times I’ve had parents come to the library and tell me that their child is about to live abroad for a couple years, and they’re trying to learn about the country. They appreciate the ability to find some common traditional recipes that they can make at home before the traveler leaves the country.

    Other information that is really handy to have includes what types of documentation travelers need (do I need a visa?), common phrases and information about the languages (how to say “hello,” and “I need help”), holidays, points of interest, common methods of transportation, and some basic history about the country.

    Whether you’re simply curious about a country, doing a report, preparing to travel, or preparing to discuss an international book at your next book club meeting, Global Road Warrior is a great resource to start your international exploration.

    Happy travels!

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

  • freegal

    In the world of online music streaming, there are a variety of options and each with its own quirks. For simplicity’s sake, I often find myself loading Youtube, finding a song I want to hear, and then letting the website automatically load more music as I go throughout my day. Unfortunately, I’ve been growing increasingly frustrated with YouTube’s ads and their odd recommendations (Youtube: “Remember that one time you listened to a Jimmy Buffet song? You love Jimmy Buffet now. Here are 20 other songs by him”). I’ve also tried Pandora and Spotify’s free services but the ads tend to drive me crazy. Happily, Provo City Library’s subscription to Freegal means that I can listen to 5 hours of ad-free streaming music every day! A big bonus is that if I find any songs I’m crazy about, I get three free downloads each week, so I can download them to my phone and listen when I’m away from data and wifi connections: perfect for summer hiking and camping trips.

    As I’ve been exploring Freegal’s music library, I’ve been creating a list of gems, some well-known and others I’d never heard before. I’ve tried to include a variety of genres below in the (likely) case that your music taste isn’t a dead-ringer for mine. Not every genre is covered as these are just my recent favorites, but try giving one or two a listen – you can hear them in their entirety via streaming, and if you really love it, you can download it for free! Just grab your library card so you can log in.

    LOCAL FAVORITES

    7.18 Bohemian RhapsodySong: BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY 
    Artist: Pentatonix
    Album: PTX Vol. IV – Classics

    Pentatonix’s YouTube channel is currently the 13th most-subscribed music video channel, so it’s fair to say they are popular, but their albums consistently top our most-checked out here at the library as well as among our patron’s downloads on Freegal. This album is their most recent release and features some of their best work to date – every track is recommended.

    R&B

    7.18 LocationSong: LOCATION 
    Artist: Khalid
    Album: Location (single)

    Khalid is a classically-trained vocalist who hit the R&B scene last year with this single, which he wrote as a senior in high school, and later in the year it went platinum. The highlight of the song is his soulful voice, backed mostly by light prickles of strings, bass, and background vocals. The biggest appeal of this track is just how fresh it sounds – it’s R&B but it’s been elevated into something else.  A single from his latest album, American Teen, is also available on Freegal and is worth checking out as well.

    SUMMER POP

    7.18 MalibuSong: MALIBU
    Artist: Miley Cyrus
    Album: Malibu

    When Miley Cyrus released this single a few weeks ago, listeners were surprised – it suggests that Cyrus is heading in a new artistic direction, leaning back into her alt-country roots. This song will undoubtedly be the sound of the 2017 summer for many young people around the world.

    OLDIES

    7.18 God Only KnowsSong: GOD ONLY KNOWS
    Artist: John Legend & Cynthia Erivo featuring yMusic
    Album: God Only Knows

    Okay, so this is an updated cover of the classic tune by the Beach Boys, but believe me, it is WORTH checking out. John Legend and British actress-singer Cynthia Erivo sang it at the 2017 Grammys as part of the “In Memoriam” segment, and it drew rave reviews. Luckily, Legend had a studio version to share with the world. This rendition is stripped down, replacing the original lush production with simplicity and warmth that showcases the gorgeous voices of Legend and Erivo. 

    CLASSICAL

    7.18 Feux dartificeSong: PRELUDES BOOK NO. II: FEUX D'ARTIFICE
    Artist: Claude Debussy, Krystian Zimerman
    Album: Maestros de la Música Clásica, Vol. I

    If you are a classical buff, I hope you can forgive me for only recently becoming familiar with Krystian Zimerman, the Polish virtuoso pianist who I am now obsessed with. All of the lofty adjectives that people use to describe musical genius – I need them ALL to describe him. If you’ve never had the pleasure of becoming acquainted with his work, I’d highly recommend checking out this track which will take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions from the impassioned to the sublime.

    FOR THE KIDS

    7.18 TrollsArtist: Various
    Album: TROLLS (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK)

    This album has been on Freegal’s “Most Popular” list since it came out last year, and if you’ve got kids they will love you for streaming this up-beat toe-tapping collection. Featuring many covers as well as a couple of originals, and artists like Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Gwen Stefani, Zooey Deschanel, and Ariana Grande, there’s something here for everyone in the family to enjoy.

     

  • Homework Help

    With school starting up again we all know that homework has once again become a part of our evening ritual. Sometimes the homework regimen can be quick and effortless and sometimes it can literally be a painful process specifically when one does not know how to go about completing it. As parents we are not present in the classroom when the steps and procedures are explained, so we find ourselves at a loss as far as how to help our children. I remember this being the case many times at my house especially when math was involved. It’s a helpless feeling when your child is struggling to understand a concept and you want to help but aren’t sure how to go about it.

    This is when the Library can step in and save the day. Many people don’t know about the FREE resources available to them through the city library. Yes, we do have homework helps! You can access these resources online if you go to our website and under the Kids Corner tab you will find online resources. These resources vary from Encyclopedias to auto repair to homework help for elementary school through high school. So go to our webpage and look at what’s available. You may find just what you need to help your children succeed in school this year. Here are a few examples of what you will find.

    WORLD BOOK

    A mainstay to meet the research needs of students in primary/elementary and middle school with thousands of articles and multimedia.School Center:

    LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY

    The resources in Learning Express Library’s Student Center can help students prepare for important test, get extra help with assignments, and boost their skills in important subjects. Resources are organized by grade levels for elementary, middle, and high school students.

    PRIMARY SEARCH MAGAZINE

    Full text magazines for elementary school research plus encyclopedia, dictionary, photos, maps and flags.

    UTAH'S ONLINE LIBRARY

    A powerful collection of homework resources provided by the Utah State Library and UEN. Contact your school or the library for login information.

  • Libby

    With the library closed and more of us using electronic resources for reading, here’s some tips for limiting searches on Libby. These filters are especially helpful if you are browsing a subject or one of the many lists that Utah’s Online Library has available. The photos are from an Android device, but these options should be the same on an iOS device as well. 

    Today I want to show you three of Libby’s search filter options.  Preferences, Refine, and more.

    Libby Screenshot 1

     

    Anything changed under Preferences will save and apply to all future searches as well, until changed again.  This is great if you only want Audiobooks, for example.

    Libby Screenshot 2a

     

    Something to keep in mind with Preferences however is that changes made here will apply to all future searches. So, if you change Availability to Available Now and get reading a series, if any of the books in that series has a waitlist then you won’t find that book in any of your searches until you change Availability back to Everything. I may or may not be speaking with the voice of experience there.

    Filters added under Refine will only apply to the current search. This is great for narrowing down your search results, especially when those results include thousands of books, all without changing what shows in future searches.

    Libby Screenshot 3

     

    The Search Within Results is an especially great feature because you can do a search within a search! If you have already put a few filters on your search but still not finding what you want, you can add another search term here without losing your previous filters. 

    Above Preferences and Refine, each search will have a list of genres that appear in the search result. It will list a handful, ending with “and more.” Selecting “and more” shows all of the genres that appear in the search results. This is great if you want a book that falls under two or more genres, such as Mystery and Historical Fiction.

    Libby Screenshot 4

     

    It also tells you how many books fall under both categories, listed from most to least. In this example of looking at Mystery as the main genre, you can see there are 1,458 books that are also tagged Historical Fiction. Further down the list than what is shown here, you’d see Western with 38 books that fall under both Mystery and Western. 

    Browsing Libby is different than browsing a physical collection of books, but by using the above search filters makes browsing for a good read easier and quicker than trying to browse through all of Libby. Play around with it and see what you can find!

     
  • IB LLL FB

    There is a stigma about learning: Learning is often associated with school and tests and things that happen between kindergarten and college—and it’s often seen as something a kid or teen is forced to do. However, I believe that learning can be fun and is actually a life-long process. 

    Think about how a baby will giggle once he learns how to mimic sticking his tongue out. He can’t get enough of the new skill. On the other end of life, I think about my grandmother who up until just a few months before she passed away was learning Spanish, studying Latin, watching documentaries about subjects that interested her, and knitting or crocheting afghans. She was in her 90s and still had an active mind that could run conversational circles around me. And she enjoyed it. (She often played games against me and declared she was the “Grand Champion of the Universe” when she beat me—which was quite frequently!) So, I do not believe that learning is boring or only something that kiddos in school should be doing. We can all enjoy being life-long learners! 

    The library is a great place for people who love to learn. We have so many great (and fun) educational resources. I can’t tell you how many times I see kids so excited that they are jumping up and down after getting out of an afterschool program—they just had so much fun learning! Yeah, you heard me right: Kids like learning. As long as it is a cool subject and they don’t have to take a test afterward…they will enjoy it. And let’s not forget about story time! There is so much giggling and laughing that goes along with those youngsters learning early literacy skills. Not to brag, but kids’ programs are one of our fortes. 

    But what about teens or adults? The good news is that the library has fun learning opportunities for us as well! First of all, the Adult and Teen Department does an amazing series of programs called Learn It. A Learn It can be about anything from personal finance to personal health. In September there is a Learn It about braiding and styling hair (even promising a few quick options for those mornings when you are running late). And there is a Learn It about the health benefits of chocolate. (Who knew that chocolate could be considered healthy?!?) 

    Another option for learning is the Lynda.com database that the library subscribes to. This is a great place to watch professional tutorial videos that are so much better than the YouTube alternatives. Lynda even has certification programs you can list on your resume. Plus, Lynda.com can be accessed from home! 

    Let’s not forget that there are all the regular (but incredible) materials that most people think about when it comes to libraries—books, movies, CDs, magazines—all of which you can check out! I personally love watching a random documentary about a fascinating subject at the end of a long week. Just last week I learned all about the Wright Brothers’ rival who helped change aeronautics as we know it. Who knew?! The point is, life-long learning is fun—and you can do it at the library!

  • IB More FB

    When I tell people that I work at a library many of them are surprised that libraries are more than just books. But they are! Yes, we have books—lots of them—for all different subjects and age ranges. But there is so much more to the library than just books. First of all, the Provo City Library has a variety of programs (like the Fairy Tea Party that I wrote about last month). Second, the library has a plethora of meeting rooms. Some are large and can be rented, like the Ballroom. Some are small and can be reserved at the First Floor Adult Reference Desk, such as our study rooms or smart room. Finally, some of my personal favorite things that aren’t books are the databases. Provo City Library has quite a few databases that can be especially helpful.

    AutoMate can help if you are fixing your car and you need diagrams or repair manual information.

    The Home Improvement Reference Center database can help those doing any sort of home improvement project.

    The Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center has loads of information on any craft or hobby you may want to learn or read about under the sun.

    Lynda.com has a plethora of movies made by professionals (not just random Youtube channel vloggers) to teach anything from how to use the Adobe Suit software to how to use a brand new camera you may have purchased. Seriously. If there is something you want to learn how to do—you should check out this database.

    The Adult Learning Center: Learning Express Library and the College Center:Learning Express Library both provide access to all sorts of practice tests. And another database lets you take practice DMV Permit tests.

    Freegal is a music database where you can download (and keep forever) three free songs and stream a few hours of music per week (and who doesn’t love free music?).

    OverDrive is amazing for ebooks and audiobooks, but it also has some movies you can stream or download for free.

    These are only a few of the databases that we have available on our library’s website! So, when you think of the Provo City Library, don’t just think of books—remember that we are so much more than books. We are entertainment, a community space, and a vast reference to community resources. Come visit to learn what else the library can be for you!

  • Resume

    People deal with stress and anxiety in very different ways. And sometimes our way of dealing morphs throughout a crisis or stressful change. I think most of us are figuring out how we individually deal, and sometimes do not deal, with uncertain times. I feel like I spent three weeks freaking out and am finally getting to the point where I can start thinking about what I can do to prepare for whatever the heck is coming next. I’ve started to find comfort in action, which is a little frustrating because I can’t really do a lot while isolating myself and my family in our home.

    You may be feeling some of the same things. My heart especially goes out to those finding themselves unexpectedly unemployed. So, I thought I would send out to you support and well wishes, which do not really help you pay rent, as well as this blog post with some ideas on how you can prepare for the job hunt you’ll be starting this summer when things hopefully start returning to some type of normal.

    Planning For Your Future

    One amazing place to start preparing is UtahFutures.org. This website for Utah residents is full of resources applicable to several stages in life. It is great for students to prepare for college and entering the job market. It is great for adults possibly looking for a new career path or needing to brush up on some basic skills like writing, math, and computer skills. There are also resources for family to help support the job hunter in your home.

    Skill Development

    Now is a great time to enhance your resume with some new or updated skills! Below are some resources to learn all types of things from coding to organization, new languages, familiarity with computers and technology, communication and leadership skills, and the list goes on. Many courses also let you earn a certificate of completion which could be helpful.

    Lynda

    Lynda.com is a resource we are always trying to encourage people to use. It is such a valuable tool and covers so many topics. The instructors are amazing and the quality all around is hard to beat. I took a look at some good courses for anyone just starting a job search and I found these wonderful options.

    • Job Search Strategies: Learn the latest techniques to find jobs efficiently and effectively. This course teaches you how to develop your profile and brand, seek advertised and unadvertised positions, network successfully to broaden your circle, and work with recruiting professionals. Valerie includes strategies for both the online and offline worlds.
    • Engage the Likability Effect in the Job Search: Research indicates that likability can be equally if not more important than competence when hiring managers are making decisions. Likability also helps you succeed once you land the job: Likable employees get more assistance and earn more promotions. In this course, you can learn simple techniques for making yourself a more appealing candidate by shifting behaviors that influence how others perceive you, ultimately becoming more likable to your network and the decision-makers in the hiring process. 
    • Writing a Resume: Finding a great job starts with writing a great resume, one that speaks to your personal and professional strengths. Learn how to write a resume that stands out and makes employers take notice.

    Pronunciator

    Pronunciator is where to go to improve or gain new language skills. They have almost 200 languages available with the ability to personalize your course so you can start at different proficiency levels and also customize the type of vocabulary you want based on occupation or interests. 

    Learning Express Library

    Learning Express Library can also be accessed through UtahFutures but I wanted to highlight some of their menus that may help you track down the features of most use.  One is the Career Preparation Center which has resources for improving your job search, interviewing, and networking skills.  Then you may also want to check out the Popular Software Skills Center which includes three courses, Master Microsoft Office, Learn Computer Graphics and Illustration, and Understanding Your Operating System.

    Job Search Resources

    While I understand that actually talking to someone at Workforce Services right now is very difficult, given how many calls they are receiving, they have a lot of information also available on their website and it is definitely worth a look.

    Also, this Thursday, April 16th from 10:00 am to 1:00 pm, Workforce Services is hosting their first statewide VIRTUAL job fair!  To register, create an account or log in to your “my Job Search” account at jobs.utah.gov.  Find your calendar in your messages and alerts and then register for Utah’s Statewide Virtual Job Fair found on April 16th. 

    My final resource may not automatically look like it would be useful to job hunters, but it can actually be really helpful.  ReferenceUSA is an extensive online directory that can help you research a business or company you are wanting to work for or it can actually help you search for the names of companies in a specific market or field. This can help you in your search efforts so you know more about a company before interviewing with them or know where to apply for the types of job you are wanting. 

    We are going to get through this! Things are going to keep getting better. Hopefully getting a head start on your job search will help you feel some approximation of control over your future. And when we reopen, whenever that may be, please come visit us for access to computers, printers, books, and just to say hi. Because we miss seeing your faces!

  • suspend holds

    If you’re a frequent library user, you might be familiar with this dilemma: there are tons of books you want to read, but other people want to read them too. So, like the industrious library user you are, you put them all on hold. 

    And then, because the universe doesn’t care about things like how long it takes to read a book, ALL YOUR HOLDS COME IN AT ONCE. And maybe you have more time to read than I do, but between my family, my work, and my need for some semblance of sleep, I haven’t yet been able to get through nine books in three weeks. But it’s painful to return something, knowing that you’ll go to the back of the line and you’ll wait another six weeks (or months!) to get that book again. 

    So what’s an intrepid reader to do? The answer is easy. Suspend your holds! 

    When you suspend a hold, you keep your place in line but allow others to bump in front of you until you’re ready for your hold. This works slightly differently in our catalog and with Libby (digital books), so I’ll walk you through both processes. 

    PHYSICAL MATERIALS 

    For materials managed exclusively through our catalog – print books, audiobooks on CD, etc. – the suspend holds feature keeps your place in line until a specific date. If you reach the top of the holds queue while your hold is suspended, other people will jump in front of you until the hold reactivates. 

    To suspend a hold through the library’s catalog, log in to your library account and click the “my holds” tab. Here you can see all of your digital holds. 

    Suspend Holds Pic 1

     

    Simply select the title you’d like to suspend, and choose a date when you’d like the hold to reactivate. This can be a little bit of a guessing game, but if you know that you’ve got a vacation or something concrete planned you can select a time when you know you’ll be available to give that book all the attention it deserves. If your reading schedule opens up unexpectedly, you can always cancel your hold suspension and you will immediately start working your way up the hold list again. 

    Suspend Holds Pic 2

     

    DIGITAL MATERIALS THROUGH LIBBY 

    If you do some of your reading through Libby by Overdrive (and if you don’t…why not? It’s amazing!), the Libby app has its own hold suspension system. It works similarly; you keep working your way up the hold queue while your hold is suspended, and if you reach the top slot Libby will allow one person at a time ahead of you until your hold is reactivated. To suspend a hold in Libby, go to your shelf and then your holds tab. Click on the red/blue “manage hold” square on the title you’d like to suspend. 

    suspend holds pic 3

     

    From here you can cancel or suspend your hold. I suggest you suspend.

    suspend holds pic 4

     

    This is now the step that doesn’t feel intuitive to me. You will be taken to a screen that gives you some information about your hold; click on the button in the lower right corner that says “active”, and then choose how long you’d like to suspend your hold. 

    suspend holds pic 5

     

    You will then be given a confirmation screen. If you immediately regret your decision, you can click “update hold suspension” and go back and rethink your life choices. 

    suspend holds pic 6

     

    Suspending holds is still a bit of a guessing game; unless you’re really diligent about knowing your place in every hold queue, there’s still a chance that your best-laid hold suspensions will all activate at the same time and you’ll still need to figure out how you can listen to a 48-hour audiobook in three days and still sleep and interact with other humans (I’m going to go ahead and tell you that you can’t. It’s just impossible. Forego human contact or resign yourself to jumping back into that hold queue.). 

    Still, it’s a tool in your belt. Place holds with abandon, and use the suspend feature wrangle them into a manageable state. Your personal reading queue will thank you. 

     
  • Headphones freegal music listening

    We library staff have been working hard to make sure you know all the great services you can access with your library card. If you visited us in the last few weeks, I bet you heard us talking about Freegal Music, a downloadable streaming music service. Freegal Music gives you access to millions of songs (and even music videos!), with five hours of AD-FREE streaming per day and three FREE downloads per week. Use online or by mobile app, with no extra software or subscription needed. And for those of you already enjoying this awesome service, Freegal just got a makeover on April 4th, making it even easier to use!

    To get started:

    1. Access Freegal Music online via the link above, the Digital Services page of the Provo City Library website, or by installing the Freegal Music mobile app onto your device. It’s free!

    2. Sign in with your library card number and PIN

    3. Browse and search for music!

    4. Enjoy 5 hours of ad-free streaming daily and 3 downloads weekly 

    Like many of you, music played (ha! accidental pun but I’m keeping it) a large role in my family’s culture. Both my parents adore music and many of us kids play instruments and sing. Some of my earliest memories are of sitting in the high school’s auditorium, watching my siblings perform in concerts and musicals and of shivering on icy metal bleachers for marching band half-time shows. Calling shotgun was a more extreme sport than even our most grueling nerf battles, since the coveted seat also came with radio station/cassette tape/cd selection powers. You’d think that this would make long car trips torturous, with six kids vying for musical control, but funnily enough it wasn’t a problem. Despite the wide range of tastes in our family of eight, we all agree: our road trip tunes were awesome. Even now, if we hear one of our family favorites, we’ll burst into song. Memories like that make life special, don’t they?

    With spring cleaning, summer road trips and barbecues on the horizon, there’s plenty of occasion to bring more music into your life. It doesn’t have to be expensive or time consuming either - between Freegal Music for tunes on the go and our collection of cd’s at the library, you’ll never lack for the perfect soundtrack.

  • LI Homebuying FB

    Buying a home, especially your first home, can be an exciting and terrifying experience. For me, the last month has been a rollercoaster of emotions. There have been ups and downs, twists and turns, and it’s emotionally exhausting.

    That said there have been some helpful books as we’ve prepared and started along this journey. If you too are considering a home purchase, here are a few to check out.

    2.26 Total Money MakeoverTOTAL MONEY MAKEOVER 
    By Dave Ramsey
    (2013)

    Start here as early as possible to get your finances in order. While we haven’t followed everything to the letter, we’ve made some pretty major changes to how we handle finances and it played one of the biggest roles in helping us get ready for this financial commitment.

     

    2.26 Tips and Traps When Buying a HomeTIPS AND TRAPS WHEN BUYING A HOME 
    By Robert Irwin
    (2009)

    The section on negotiating made a massive difference for us. Though this book was published 10 years ago there’s still some solid advice that we took to heart. It may be a sellers’ market right now, but if you look during the right months when competition from other buyers is at its lowest, you may still be able to strike a pretty sweet deal.

     

    2.26 Home Buying Kit for DummiesHOME BUYING KIT FOR DUMMIES 
    By Eric Tyson and Ray Brown
    (2016)

    Some key advice I took away from this book was related to emotional attachment. It’s important to look at a house as impartially as you can when considering what you need in your future home. Decide what is most important and valuable to you, and don’t get caught up on bonuses over needs.

     

    2.26 100 Questions Every First Time Home Buyer Should Ask100 QUESTIONS EVERY FIRST-TIME HOME BUYER SHOULD ASK 
    By Ilyce R. Glink
    (2005)

    I love to listen and absorb information, but I’m terrible at asking questions until I’ve had time to mull things over. These questions are ones to ask yourself, your agent, the seller, and your lender. I found them to be a great starting point for the conversations I needed to have, and got me thinking about those conversations early so that I knew what my questions were.

     

    HOME IMPROVEMENT REFERENCE CENTER

    Once you’ve made the purchase you may find yourself more focused on upkeep and personalization. I’ve talked about this resource before and it’s still one of the first places I turn to when I have repair questions. Yes, I’ve already looked up how to build bookshelves. Maybe you’re considering buying a fixer-upper or just need the basics, whichever category you fall into, the HOME IMPROVEMENT REFERENCE CENTER has got you covered.

     

    When browsing these books I read the sections that were important to me, and skipped around to see if there was any new information I hadn’t picked up elsewhere. There are several other books available on home buying (call # 643.12) and I highly recommend you take a look at ones that feel relevant to you and your unique circumstances.

    Best of luck future home owners, and may you find a home you love!

  •  Recycled Crafts

    I love recycling projects because I can turn something old, that still has plenty of wear, into something new and useful again.

    For example, my son recently ripped several of his old jeans. I hate to throw away good denim but the only thing I could think of to repurpose his old jeans was to make a quilt. However, I don’t have enough denim or the time for a project like that so, I have been trying to think of ways I could use this denim. Recently, I came across a book that had several ideas for using old jeans and turning them into something new, like a bag or a skirt. It got me thinking about what I could make with what I already have. This discovery came at a perfect time since I can’t go to the craft store right now to get ideas or supplies and I have been wanting to make something.

    If you are feeling like me and want some ideas for using what you already have lying around the house, take a look at these resources and then go and create something new.

    CREATIVE BUG

    This online resource is free with your current library card and it has many ideas for crafts you can make. If you want recycling crafts specifically, type “recycle” in the search bar and it will bring up several ideas. Check out this fun website and get your creative juices flowing as you watch tutorials with step-by-step instructions on how to do a wide variety of crafting.

     

    OVERDRIVE

    Many of our books can be checked out online through OVERDRIVE or LIBBY. If you type in “recycled crafts”, you will find multiple titles that can inspire you to make many creative projects such as puppets, quilts, or little fixes for clothing.

     

    5.5 Cool Crafts with Old JeansCOOL CRAFTS WITH OLD JEANS: GREEN PROJECTS FOR RESOURCEFUL KIDS
    By Carol Sirrine
    (2010)

    This is a great book with lots of pictures and step-by-step instructions on how to make something new with your old jeans. It contains decorating ideas for your room and lots of fun crafts. Some require sewing and some can be done with a hot glue gun. Check it out and repurpose some of your old jeans.

     

    5.5 b The Craft a Day BookTHE CRAFT-A-DAY BOOK: 30 PROJECTS TO MAKE WITH RECYCLED MATERIALS 
    By Kari Cornell
    (2018)

    If you’re looking for a book to help you come up with ideas for recycling and where to find materials, this book is for you. It contains a wide range of ideas for using old t-shirts, sweaters or socks to make something new. We are surrounded with what we need, we just need inspiration. This book will inspire you to look closely at the world around you for inspiration in making your crafts and challenge you to use recycled and reusable materials.

     

    5.5 DIY T Shirt CraftsDIY T-SHIRT CRAFTS: FROM BRAIDED BRACELETS TO FLOOR PILLOWS, 50-UNEXPECTED WAYS TO RECYCLE YOUR OLD T-SHIRTS 
    By Adrianne Surian
    (2015)

    We all have t-shirts piled up around the house that we hate to get rid of because they still have plenty of wear, so if you are looking for a way to repurpose these old t-shirts check out this DIY book. You will find a wide variety of ideas to help you transform those old t-shirts into fun stylish accessories that won’t break the bank.

     
  • Journaling

    I’m not awesome at keeping a journal.  I kept a private blog when I was younger, but now I don’t worry about journaling so much.  There’s always something else I could be doing.  It was therefore very out of the ordinary for me the other day when I suddenly thought to myself, “I should write in my journal.”  It turned out I had a lot that I needed to say.

    As I’ve thought about this, and as I’ve read some really interesting articles about this topic (like this one), I’ve realized how important it is for all of us to record what we’re going through right now.  It will help us process our emotions and make sense of the world around us.  And since this time is literally different from all other times that have come before, you never know how what you write down will help future generations.

    If you’re reading this and thinking to yourself, “I have nothing to say,” or even, “Are you kidding me?  My life is crazy right now!  How am I supposed to add another thing to my To Do list?” Here are some suggestions of ways to ease into the process.

    Focus on the Moment

    One thing that keeps me from journaling is the thought that I have to summarize everything that’s happened since the last time I attempted to journal.  Don’t do that.  Instead, focus on just writing down what you’re thinking of in the moment.  Still don’t know what to say?  Try answering one of these questions, or check out a longer list here (https://www.libraries.wright.edu/community/outofthebox/2020/03/25/so-youve-decided-to-keep-a-coronavirus-diary-now-what/):

    1. What did you do today (or this week)? How was that different from what you would do on a “normal” day/week?
    2. What changes have you personally experienced (physically, mentally and/or emotionally) since this crisis began?
    3. What has been the most difficult thing for you personally about this crisis? Do you think there’s anything positive that may come from what’s happening?

    Try a Different Journaling Method

    Journals come in all shapes and forms.  If the task of writing out a traditional journal entry seems daunting, try a different format.  Some examples:

    1. Write down a quick thought somewhere that’s convenient for you. This could be in a notebook, on a computer, or even in the Notes app on your phone.
    2. Explore Bullet Journaling.
    3. Keep lists—this could be a list of what you’re grateful for, what songs you’re currently listening to, the top three things that happened today: anything.
    4. Make an audio or video recording, or post something on social media.
    5. Take pictures.
    6. Work on an art or craft project that expresses what you’re going through.
    7. The Provo Library has a Let’s Learn Guide that covers different ways to keep a journal.

    One thing that helped inspire writing this blog post was finding out about the University of Utah’s COVID-19 Digital Project.  You can submit your photographs and experiences to this project.

    While we don’t want to take away from the above project, the Provo Library would like to do something similar.  We want to record Provo’s experience of the COVID-19 pandemic.  If you are interested in submitting journal entries, photographs, or artwork that represent this time, please let us know! While it’s probably best that you keep your journals private, a summarized snapshot of your time in quarantine could be good for future generations to see.  When you look back on this year, what will you remember?

  • here to help

    I recently took a phone call from a library patron who was interested in learning how to use some advanced functions in Microsoft Office software (Excel, Word, etc), but taking a formal class was cost prohibitive. This patron wanted to know if we had any resources that could help them.

    Oh do we have resources…

    Can I just tell you? Asking a librarian what resources are available for [insert task/project/assignment here] is one of the best ways to make us love you. We want to tell you all about the amazing resources that you can use for FREE!

    For this patron, I recommended four different resources:

    1. The Computer Help Lab which takes place Tuesdays and Thursdays from 2:00 – 5:00 PM in the Special Collections Room. This particular patron wasn’t available during those hours, so next I recommended…

    2. Book a Librarian. With this service the patron can request a time that suits them to meet with a librarian one-on-one to get individual help. The patron liked this idea, but was also interested in self-directed learning. So I also recommended…

    3. Learning Express Library, which has a lot of great resources that range far beyond just basic computer and Microsoft Office skills, including standardized test resources (ACT, ASVAB, GED, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, Praxis, SAT, TOEFL, TOEIC, etc.), resources for becoming a U.S. citizen, basic math, reading, and writing resources, and so much more that this is just the tip of the ice berg.

    4. And finally, one of my favorites, Lynda.com. I don’t really know where to start when trying to describe the wealth of resources available on here. In addition to Microsoft Office courses, Lynda offers fantastic and professionally produced video courses on subjects relating to and including: 3D and animation, audio and music, business, CAD, design, courses for developers, education and e-learning, IT, marketing, photography, video, and the web.

    For the Provo City Library, providing our community with access to information, instruction, and learning is central to our mission. We are here to help, and want to make sure you are aware of the amazing, FREE resources available to everyone.

    The next time you come in, ask a librarian what great resources the library can offer, and watch their face light up.Just try it.

    I dare you.

  • Encyclopedias

    School is in session and that inevitably means homework. Last year, my first grader came home from school and informed me that he had a report due in a few days, and that he needed to research an animal of his choice and use reputable sources for his information. When I was his age, I would pull an encyclopedia off our bookshelves, but these days physical sets of encyclopedias are expensive, quickly outdated, and almost obsolete. Before I panicked, I remembered that with my Provo City Library card, I have access to World Book Encyclopedia online (http://www.provolibrary.com/a-z-resources-list/list/alpha/w).

    As my son and I researched his report, I realized that we have access to five different versions of World Book! Here is a little summary of each:

    World Book Online

    This option gives you access to all the other versions as well as Timelines and eBooks.

    World Book Kids

    This was the obvious choice for my little guy. This version is filled with fun graphics, easy to understand articles, and even games and interactive maps.

    World Book Student

    This version is geared toward elementary and middle school students. The information is a bit more detailed than the kids’ version, and it comes with neat tools like an option to sign in and save your research, as well as a citation builder that helps students create MLA, APA, and Harvard citations.

    World Book Advanced

    Here we have the graduated, grownup version of the encyclopedia. This no-frills edition has a more advanced search tool, and links to primary and secondary sources.

    World Book Spanish

    As expected, this version is in Spanish and is geared toward Spanish speaking students. The interface targets young kids and has activities and games as well.

    Wikipedia is awesome, but sometimes you need resources that are a little more curated and that is where World Book steps in to help!  Each of these portals provides quality information that is easily referenced and designed for its specific audience. 

    Sometimes, I’m a little nostalgic for that physical encyclopedia set of my childhood, but hopefully my son will build memories too as he discovers the wonders of information in a format made for his generation.