Forrester, C.S.

Hornblower Series

Publication Order

  1. The Happy Return (1937, called Beat to Quarters in the US)
  2. A Ship of the Line (1938, called simply Ship of the Line in the US)
  3. Flying Colours (1938, spelled Flying Colors in some US editions)
  4. The Commodore (1945, called Commodore Hornblower in the US)
  5. Lord Hornblower (1946)
  6. Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (1950, collected short stories)
  7. Lieutenant Hornblower (1952)
  8. Hornblower and the Atropos (1953)
  9. Hornblower in the West Indies (1958, Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies in some US editions)
  10. Hornblower and the Hotspur (1962)
  11. Hornblower and the Crisis (1967, unfinished novel and short stories, Hornblower During the Crisis in some US editions)

Chronological Order (the order the adventures happened)

  1. Mr. Midshipman Hornblower
  2. Lieutenant Hornblower
  3. Hornblower and the Hotspur
  4. Hornblower and the Atropos
  5. Beat to Quarters
  6. Ship of the Line
  7. Flying Colours
  8. Commandore Hornblower
  9. Lord Hornblower
  10. Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies
  11. Hornblower During the Crisis (Short Stories)
Located in: All | Fiction